Advisory Council

TRAIN's Advisory Council is comprised of leaders from TRAIN participating organizations. The council makes recommendations for new activities TRAIN might undertake to enhance its influence, encourage more entrepreneurial philanthropy in medical research, and build more and better networks with other R&D stakeholders.

  • Robert Beall, President & CEO, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
  • Nancy Brown, CEO, American Heart Association
  • Monica Coenraads, Executive Director, Rett Syndrome Research Trust
  • Louis DeGennaro, President and CEO, Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
  • Pat Furlong, Founding President and CEO, Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy
  • Richard Insel, Chief Science Officer, JDRF
  • Louise Perkins, Chief Science Officer, Melanoma Research Alliance
  • Todd Sherer, CEO, Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research
  • Josh Sommer, Executive Director, Chordoma Foundation

The nature of service on the TRAIN Advisory Council is advisory, voluntary, and participatory. The council has no policy-making authority. Members are selected for their expertise, and membership is not related to sponsorship; participants receive no compensation. There is an expectation for active involvement and mutual benefit from service.